Friday, February 12, 2016

Clinton cricketers play Mayor’s Cup

By Raphael Sugarman
Marisol Díaz/The Riverdale Press
Syed Islam, from DeWitt Clinton High School, bowls for the Bronx/Manhattan team in the 2013 Mayors Cup Cricket tournament against the Queens team on Saturday at the Parade Ground at Vannie. Queens won 132 with 15 overs – 102 with 14.4 overs.

Four players from DeWitt Clinton boys’ cricket team were chosen to compete in the Mayor’s Cup tournament at Van Cortlandt Park on Saturday, June 22.

The Governors were part of the Bronx/Manhattan team, which was one of four squads that played in the tournament. There were two teams comprised of players from Queens schools, as well as a team from Brooklyn. 

The Bronx/Manhattan team lost to the Queens No. 1 team in the semi-finals, 131-104. 

The Queens No. 1 team won the championship with a narrow 110-109 win over the Queens No. 2 team. 

In the semi-final game, on the defensive side, Zahid Hasan allowed 19 runs and two wickets in three “overs” as a bowler. An over consists of six balls bowled from one end of the cricket pitch. Syed Isam allowed 15 runs in two overs. Asfaque Chowdhury had 17 runs in two overs. Hasan Mahbub had 15 runs in two overs. 

Chowdhury led his team in runs with 22. Hasan and Isam scored 10 runs each, while Asmar Khan had 3 runs.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Contact Us             © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc. | Powered By: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.