PRISM Quartet: Breath Beneath

Posted by mattlevy

Hailed by Chamber Music magazine for “pioneering achievements of the highest order,” the PRISM Quartet partners with 3 Legged Dog in New York City to co-present Breath Beneath, a pilot project that explores the intersection of music, interactive technology, and durational visual art.

Breath Beneath is the first phase—and first public presentation—of a multi-year “Discovery” initiative. Reaching across disciplines, the PRISM Quartet (saxophones) joins forces with two intrepid creative teams to investigate how saxophonists’ movements and sounds can be used to generate images—and how those images shape musical interpretation.

Breath Beneath features world premiere of “Cha” by filmmaker Bill Morrison, composer Julia Wolfe, and programmer Ryan Holsopple; and “Waveguide Model I” by filmmaker Mark DeChiazza and composer Dan Trueman. Plus works by filmmakers Eli Stine and Jan Boiten, and composers Kati Agócs and Jacob TV.

For complete information, please visit

Tickets: $25,

(800) 838-3006